Self-love #1

“Self love is an ocean and your heart is a vessel. Make it full, and any excess will spill over into the lives of the people you hold dear. But you must come first” -Beau Taplin

Self love is a very broad topic and something i’m slowly learning about. As someone who has a weird relationship with exercise and food I spent years thinking of many exercises as ___ calories etc. and being hard on myself for eating certain foods. But i’m learning to do what I love and stop doing what I don’t. I used to strive to go to the gym three times a week and a missed session lead to guilt but now I can skip a week and know it’s what my body needs and whether I go or not is my decision and I shouldn’t punish myself. As much as I love the #fitspo culture on tumblr and tags like this, a lot of them rely on guilting yourself into working out and eating right. I eat what I want and what my body needs, within reason because all I ever want is cake, if I feel hungry I will eat food with nutrition in mind but not as a focus.

this is just one aspect of self love that i’m focusing on. Are you working on any area of self love?

Leave a Reply

