No longer being ‘the smart one’

I don’t know if you’ve experienced this but as someone who naturally tries to excel academically I found over the years i’d become ‘the smart one’ in high school who always had work done, who would help if you needed it. And I always felt slightly defined and restricted by it, if I did badly on an exam everyone found out and my teacher would give me a look of pure disappointment (that helped my anxiety loads). But since starting university I am definitely not the smartest there and although at first it made me feel slightly dumb now I revel in it, it no longer defines me, I still work hard and hope to achieve me but people can get to know me not my grades.

Leave a Reply

